Robert Kirkland

Guitar, Vocals

Born in Beaumont, Texas, Robert was out of there by the age of 5, on to Little Rock, Antigua, Hatteras, Nova Scotia, Winston-Salem, El Paso, Winston-Salem (again), Kwajalein Marshall Islands, Winston-Salem (again) and at last to college at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill.

Within a week of his matriculation in 1969 the Dog Breath Blues Band (later to be christened Arrogance) was born.

Robert blames his older sister for turning him on to rock and roll via the noise emanating from her pajama parties. Tunes like “Makin’ Love,” “Jail House Rock” and "Summertime Blues" created the ruckus.

Robert’s eclectic influences include Gene Pitney, Bobby Rydell, Bobby Vinton, Bobby Vee, Bobby Zimmerman, Beatles, Stones, Kingston Trio, Four Seasons, Dionne Warwick, Beach Boys, Animals, Kinks, Dave Clark 5, Searchers, Zombies, Manfred Mann, Eddie Cochran, Small Faces, John Mayall, Nino Tempo and April Stevens, James Brown, Betty Everett, Left Banke, Elvis P., Free, Gary Brooker, Beau Brummels, Paul Anka, Rascals, Buffalo Springfield, Standells, Seeds, Drifters, Airplane, Moby Grape, Them, Spirit, Jimmy Spheris, Etta James, Thin White Rope, Burt Bacharach, Willis Alan Ramsey, Byrds, Coasters, Platters, American Breed, Lovin’Spoonful, Kay Starr, Lowell George, Dick and Dee Dee, Kyo Sakamoto, Terry Reid, Jimmy Rodgers, Troggs, Astronauts, Debbie Reynolds, Wall of Voodoo, Hollies, Dusty Springfield, Matt Barrett, Brian Hyland, Neil Young, Kingsmen, Trashmen, Autosalvage, Muddy Waters, Perry Como, Jan and Dean, Julie London, Jim Carroll Band, Everly Bros., The Browns, Gourmet Vikings, Johnny Mathis, Buddy Holly, Little Anthony, Randy and the Rainbows, John Kay, Cat Stevens, Turtles, Patti Page and the list goes on.

After the breakup of Arrogance in 1983, Robert produced acts including the Fabulous Knobs, the Snap, the Othermothers, Woodpeckers, Simon’s New Toy, Day Room Monitors, Luky Owens and Revolver, Bad Checks, Subliminal Surge, and many others. His solo effort, Kick the Future, was recorded by Steve Haigler at Reflection Sound Studios and released in Denmark in ’86. The album featured cuts from final Arrogance sessions and new original material.

The band Kick The Future was formed during that time and included with Robert, Scott Davison on drums, Jack Campbell (Johnny Quest and Pressure Boys) on bass, and, world renowned guitar builder, Terry Mcinturff on electric guitar. KTF played a few gigs but soon went separate ways only to be resurrected in 2006.

Robert enlisted help from local favorites the Hanks for a series of successful performances.

Recently his song “Uthuan,” appeared on the compilation record Strength of Strings (Foreshortened Arm Recordings). Robert plays with Kick the Future and continues to write songs as well as sustaining his role as founder, composer, vocalist and guitarist for Arrogance.

In addition to Arrogance performances, Kick The Future plays the occasional show, with Ron Bartholomew (The Hanks, The Nevers) at bass gtr.

Robert claims to be in process of completing many unfinished tunes, and admits to being shamed into this because of his son’s, and his wife’s recent prolific song writing accomplishments.
Home Bio Music Images Artifacts Contact
Web design by designOneweb of Winston Salem